Activities Archive

(Go here to see upcoming activities)
Displaying 11 - 20 of 110
Date: Tue, 12/02/2019 - 18:30
By: Andrew Paterson & John Parkington
Western Cape
The painted undulating lines surrounding and linking elephants in Western Cape rock art have previously been identified as entoptic visions seen by shaman/painters while in altered states.
Date: Thu, 07/02/2019 - 19:30
By: Bernhard Zipfel
Northern
Date:     Thursday, 7 February 2019 
Time:     19:30
Venue:  The auditorium, Roedean School,
              35 Princess of Wales Terrace, Parktown
Charge:  Non-members:  R30, members: free      

Date: Sat, 17/11/2018 - 09:00
By: A walking tour with Jo Buitendach
Northern
Date: Saturday, 17 November, 2018 Time: 09:00 for 9:30 Sharp! 
Meet at: Big Giant Brewery, No 1 Fox Precinct, Fox Street, Johannesburg
Date: Thu, 15/11/2018 - 19:30
By: David Pearce
Northern
Date:          Thursday, 15 November 2018 Time:  19:30
Venue:        The Auditorium, Roedean School, 
                   35 Princess of Wales Terrace, Parktown, Johannesburg
Charge:      Non-members:  R30, members: free          
Date: Tue, 13/11/2018 - 18:30
By: Vincent Hare
Western Cape
In archaeomagnetism, physicists team up with archaeologists to reconstruct changes in the direction and strength of the Earth’s magnetic field over timescales of hundreds to thousands of years.
Date: Tue, 09/10/2018 - 18:30
By: Robert Nyamushosho
Western Cape
The general conviction in the Iron Age archaeology of southern Africa is that drylands are marginal landscapes that did not host any significant agro-pastoral communities in the past.
Date: Thu, 04/10/2018 - 19:30
By: Annalie Kleinoog
Northern
Date:          Thursday, 4 October 2018 Time:  19:30
Venue:        The Auditorium, Roedean School, 
                   35 Princess of Wales Terrace, Parktown, Johannesburg
Charge:      Non-members:  R30, members: free          
 
Date: Sat, 29/09/2018 - 07:30
By: Bouwer Wiersma
Northern
Date: Saturday, 29 September, 2018
Time: 7:30 to depart at 7:45 Sharp! 
Meet at: The Planetarium parking area, Wits University
Note: This is a coach tour and participants may not join in private cars.
Date: Thu, 13/09/2018 - 19:30
By: Prof. Roger Smith
Northern
Date: Tue, 11/09/2018 - 18:30
By: Deano Stynder
Western Cape
It has been hypothesized that the morphological and behavioural traits that characterize Homo sapiens developed as adaptive responses to environmental challenges in Africa over the last million years or so.